The SPIN workshop is a forum for practitioners and researchers interested in state space-based techniques for the validation and analysis of software systems. Theoretical techniques and empirical evaluations based on explicit representations of state spaces, as implemented in the SPIN model checker or other tools, or techniques based on combination of explicit representations with other representations, are the focus of this workshop. The proceedings of SPIN 2011 will be published in Springer-Verlag's Lecture Notes in Computer Science series.

Important Dates

Hotel Booking Deadline: June 20, 2011
Early Registration Deadline: June 24, 2011
Workshop Dates: July 14-15, 2011

Invited Speakers

Jasmin Fisher Microsoft Research, Cambridge
Jasmin Fisher is an expert on "excutable biology," the design and analysis of computer algorithms describing biological phenomena, an approach with great promise for new discoveries, global dynamic pictures of system behavior, and cost-efficient preliminary studies that save laboratory time and resources.

John Regehr University of Utah
John Regehr leads a research group that works to improve the quality of embedded software via
static analysis, stress testing, formal verification, and sometimes the graceful tolerance of runtime bugs.

Preliminary program is now available.


Program Chairs:

Alex Groce

Oregon State University, USA

Madanlal Musuvathi

Microsoft Research, Redmond


Program Committee:

James Andrews

University of Western Ontario, London, Canada

Dragan Bosnacki

Eindhoven University of Technology

Sebastian Burckhardt

Microsoft Research, Redmond

Cristian Cadar

Imperial College, London

George Candea

EPFL, Switzerland

Sagar Chaki

Software Engineering Institute, Pittsburgh

Supratik Chakraborty

I.I.T. Bombay, India

Azadeh Farzan

University of Toronto, Canada

Susanne Graf


Alex Groce

Oregon State University, USA

Aarti Gupta


Klaus Havelund

Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena

Gerard Holzmann

Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena

Gerwin Klein

NICTA & UNSW, Sydney

Akash Lal

Microsoft Research, India

Alberto Lluch Lafuente

IMT Institute for Advanced Studies, Lucca

Rupak Majumdar

Max Planck Institute for Software Systems

Darko Marinov

University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Madanlal Musuvathi

Microsoft Research, Redmond

David Parker

University of Oxford

Corina Pasareanu

Carnegie Mellon/NASA Ames

Doron Peled

Bar Ilan University

Koushik Sen

University of California, Berkeley

Scott Stoller

Stony Brook University

Murali Talupur

SCL, Intel