Seventeenth International Conference on
Architectural Support for Programming Languages and Operating Systems (ASPLOS 2012)
London, UK, March 3–7 2012
Provocative Ideas Session

This session continues the long-running tradition of ASPLOS in sharing bold forward-looking and unconventional ideas in the early stage of their development. In the past, this session has been named Wild and Crazy Ideas as well as Ideas and Perspectives. We are experimenting with different names in order to revive the session and to emphasize its focus on bold and provocative ideas and to shift away from the "stand-up comedy" aspect.

In other words, share your bold new ideas even if you do not have the skills of a stand-up comedian. This is the session where you can share your wildest dreams about what computing is to be, and no one will criticize you for being "wrong" or "unrealistic".

Accepted Presentations

We are pleased to announce the presentations accepted for the Provocative Ideas Session:
  • Vertical Heterogeneity Beats Horizontal Heterogeneity. David R. Cheriton (Stanford University)

  • Single-Instruction HW/SW Unified Stack for Accelerated and Resilient Application Execution. Ronaldo Ferreira, Fabio Itturriet, Caroline Aguiar, Álvaro Moreira, and Luigi Carro (Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul Porto Alegre, Brazil)

  • Heterogeneous or not: Why Should Software Care? Vishakha Gupta, Rob Knauerhase (Intel Labs)

  • Exploiting Economic Models for Self-aware Computing. Henry Hoffmann, Anant Agarwal, Srinivas Devadas (MIT)

  • Ubiquitous Dynamic Code Generation and Compilation for Future Devices. Shoaib Kamil and Armando Fox (UC Berkeley)

  • Green Thieves in Work Stealing. Yu David Liu (SUNY Binghamton)

  • Steam Power: The Data Center's New Killer Application. David Wentzlaff (Princeton University)

Format of the Session

Short talks (around 10 minutes), and follow-up questions to start a discussion.

Submission Details

The submission deadline for provocative ideas has now passed. The details were:


Submissions due: Thursday, January 5, 2012 (8pm PST)
Notification: Thursday, January 13, 2012

Program Committee

Alexandra Fedorova (Simon Fraser University) – chair
Angela Demke Brown (University of Toronto)
Rebecca Isaacs (Microsoft Research)
Please contact Tim Harris ( with any questions about this site.