Seventeenth International Conference on
Architectural Support for Programming Languages and Operating Systems (ASPLOS 2012)
London, UK, March 3–7 2012
Poster Session

The ASPLOS poster session will be held with the conference reception on Sunday 4th March 2012 maximizing exposure. The poster session is an excellent venue for presenting and discussing ongoing research work. The poster session will facilitate informal discussions with other conference participants. In addition, the poster selection committee will visit each poster for a brief presentation (3 min.) and will award prizes to the best three posters. We encourage both established researchers as well as graduate students to submit their work.

Accepted Posters

We are pleased to announce the posters accepted for ASPLOS 2012:
  • Accelerating Virtualized Systems with better Physical Memory Allocations. Mehul Chadha, Alan L. Cox, Scott Rixner (Rice U.)
  • Architectural Simulation in the Kilo-core Era. R. Giorgi (U. Siena), A. Scionti (U. Siena), A. Portero (U. Siena), P. Faraboschi (HP Labs)
  • CaaS: Core as a Service Bring SOA to MPSoC for Chip level Parallelization. Chao Wang, Xi Li, Junneng Zhang, Xuehai Zhou (U. Science and Technology of China)
  • Efficient Co-Execution on a Multi-Core with Shared LLC: TPC-H Query Execution Characterization. Constantinos Christofi (U. Cyprus), Aamer Jaleel (Intel), Pedro Trancoso (U. Cyprus)
  • Enhancing the Performance of Assisted Execution Runtime Systems. Gokcen Kestor (BSC), Roberto Gioiosa (BSC), Osman Unsal (BSC), Adrian Cristal (CISC), Mateo Valero (UPC)
  • FastR: Fast RMWs for TSO. Bharghava Rajaram, Vijay Nagarajan (Edinburgh U.)
  • Kernel Integrity Protection from Untrusted Extensions Using Dynamic Binary Instrumentation. Akshay Kumar, Peter Goodman, Ashvin Goel, Angela Demke Brown (U. Toronto)
  • Lightweight Adaptive Binary Translation for Virtualization on Embedded PowerPC. Dushyant Bansal (IIT Delhi), Aashish Mittal (IIT Delhi), Dr. Sorav Bansal (IIT Delhi), Varun Sethi (Freescale)
  • PEACH: a Multicore Communication SoC with PCI Express. Sugako Otani, Hiroyuki Kondo, Kazutami Arimoto (Renesas), Toshihiro Hanawa, Shin'ichi Miura, Hiroya Kaneko, Taisuke Boku, Mitsuhisa Sato (U. Tsukuba)
  • Reducing Idle Power Consumption in MapReduce using Low-Power Heartbeats. Guillaume Brogi, Makoto Suzuki, Hideaki Imaizumi, Hiroyuki Morikawa (U. Tokyo), Ryohei Suzuki, Tomohiro Nagata (NTT)
  • Scalable Applications on a Factored Operating System. Christopher R. Johnson, Charles Gruenwald III, Nathan Beckmann, Harshad Kasture, David Wentzlaff, Lawrence Stewart, Adam Belay, Jeff Ward, Lamia Youseff, Anant Agarwal (MIT)
  • Software Implementation vs. Hardware Implementation: The Avionic Test System Case-Study. George Afonso (EADS-INRIA), Rabie Ben Atilallah (U. Valenciennes), Jean-Luc Dekeyser (LIFL, USTL, INRIA)
  • Static or Dynamic: Trade-offs for Task Dependency Analysis. Qi Guo, Chao Wang, Junneng Zhang, Xuehai Zhou (U. Science and Technology of China)
  • Storage systems for storage-class memory. Haris Volos, Michael Swift (U. Wisconsin-Madison)
  • Towards an Adaptive and Resource-Aware Java Runtime for Cloud Computing with Quality-of-Execution. José Simão, Luís Veiga (INESC-ID)
  • User-Space Network Emulation for the SPLAY Platform. Valerio Schiavoni, Pascal Felber, Etienne Rivière (U. Neuchâtel)
  • Very Small CIL Virtual Machine for Wireless Sensor Devices. Yutaka Yanagisawa (NTT), Yasue Kishino (NTT), Takayuki Suyama (NTT), Tsutomu Terad (Kobe U.), Masahiko Tsukamoto (Kobe U.)
  • Why Blow Away Heat? Harvest Server's Heat Using Thermoelectric Generators. Ted Tsung-Te Lai, Wei-Ju Chen, Yi-Hsuan Hsieh, Kuei-Han Li, Ya-Yunn Su, Polly Huang, Hao-Hua Chu (National Taiwan U.)

Submission Details

The submission deadline for posters has now passed. The details were:

Authors of posters must send the following information to by email to by Friday, December 30, 2011:

  • Title, author names, and affiliations.
  • Two-page extended abstract in PDF format of the proposed poster.
The extended abstract must be prepared ACM standard conference format with 9pt font. Templates for the ACM format are available for LaTeX, Word and WordPerfect at The two pages must include all content, including figures and references.


Submissions due: Friday, December 30, 2011
Notification: Thursday, January 5, 2012

Selection Committee

Mikel Luján (University of Manchester) – chair
Lee Howes (AMD)
Matt Horsnell (ARM)
Ross McIlroy (Google)
Please contact Tim Harris ( with any questions about this site.