Share on Facebook Tweet on Twitter Share on LinkedIn Share by email
Ed Nightingale

Ed Nightingale is a systems researcher and software engineer. Ed has authored papers in top systems conferences such as OSDI and SOSP. He has co-authored 20 conference and journal publications, has won 6 best paper awards, and even helped to set the world record in disk-to-disk sorting ( He has also worked as an engineer and as an engineering manager running a large-scale distributed storage service. Ed is deeply familiar with agile engineering software development practices and he really enjoys building large-scale systems. 

He can be reached at ed.nightingale using the domain

Recent Publications

James Mickens, Ed Nightingale, Jeremy Elson, Bin Fan, Asim Kadav, Vijay Chidambaram, Osama Khan, Krishna Nareddy, and Darren Gehring, Blizzard: Fast, Cloud-scale Block Storage for Cloud-oblivious Applications, in Proceedings of NSDI, USENIX, April 2014.

Edmund B. Nightingale, Jeremy Elson, Jinliang Fan, Owen Hofmann, Jon Howell, and Yutaka Suzue, Flat Datacenter Storage, in 10th USENIX Symposium on Operating Systems Design and Implementation (OSDI 2012), USENIX, October 2012.

Edmund B. Nightingale, John R Douceur, and Vince Orgovan, Cycles, Cells and Platters: An Empirical Analysis of Hardware Failures on a Million Consumer PCs, in Proceedings of EuroSys 2011, Awarded "Best Paper", ACM, April 2011.

Engin Ipek, Jeremy Condit, Edmund B Nightingale, Doug Burger, and Thomas Moscibroda, Dynamically Replicated Memory: Building resilient systems from unreliable nanoscale memories, in Fifteenth International Conference on Architectural Support for Programming Languages and Operating Systems (ASPLOS '10) Won Best Paper Award., March 2010.

Edmund B. Nightingale, Orion Hodson, Ross McIlroy, Chris Hawblitzel, and Galen Hunt, Helios: Heterogeneous Multiprocessing with Satellite Kernels, in Proceedings of the 22nd Symposium on Operating Systems Principles (SOSP '09), Association for Computing Machinery, Inc., Big Sky, MT, October 2009.

Jeremy Condit, Edmund B. Nightingale, Christopher Frost, Engin Ipek, Doug Burger, Benjamin Lee, and Derrick Coetzee, Better I/O Through Byte-Addressable, Persistent Memory, in Symposium on Operating Systems Principles (SOSP '09), Association for Computing Machinery, Inc., October 2009.

Award Papers