Computational Science Laboratory

The goal of the Computational Science Lab is to tackle fundamental problems in science in areas of societal importance, by bringing together new kinds of scientists, in a new kind of Laboratory, pioneering new kinds of approaches, new kinds of computational methods, and new kinds of scientific software tools.

Research Groups

Biological Computation Group

The Group is focused on the development and advancement of a new field of Biological Computation, that aims to transform our understanding of biology by considering biological systems as living computation, and to develop the techniques needed to design and program computation in living systems.


Computational Ecology and Environmental Science Group

The Group is focused on enabling, making and accelerating fundamental advances in our understanding of, and ability to predict the impact of future changes to, the global climate and ecological systems and processes: Earth’s life support system.


Latest News

October 2013:  Paper in Nature Nanotechnology by Neil Dalchau, Andrew Phillips, Luca Cardelli and colleagues:  Programmable chemical controllers made from DNA

6 September 2013: Paper in Science by Lucas Joppa, Piero Visconti, C. Jenkins and Stuart Pimm:  Achieving the Convention on Biological Diversity’s Goals for Plant Conservation.

July 2013: Stephen Emmott's book, Ten Billion published


July 2013:  Lucas Joppa wins Society for Conservation Biology's Early Career Achievement Award

17 May 2013. Paper in Science by Lucas Joppa et al.,  Troubling Trends in Scientific Software Use

Recent Publications

More publications...



Head of Computational Science: Stephen Emmott

Biological Computation Group
Head:  Andrew Phillips

Jonathan Cooper

Neil Dalchau

Sara-Jane Dunn
Paul Grant
Colin Gravill

Hillel Kugler

Chris McEwan

James Osborne

Michael Pedersen
Rasmus Petersen
Fillipo Polo
Boyan Yordanov
Alistair Bailey*
Frits Dannenberg*
Wei Pan*
Laura Parshotam*
Tim Rudge* 

Administrator: Becky Frost
Microsoft Research
21 Station Road
Tel: +44 (0)1223 479 767

Computational Ecology & Environmental Science Group

Head: Drew Purves
Sadia Ahmed
Maria Bruna
Sylvia Caldararu
Robin Freeman

Mike Harfoot

Lucas Joppa

Vassily Lyutsarev

Tim Newbold

Matthew Smith

Siamak Tavakoli
Derek Tittensor
Jonathan Tripp
Piero Visconti
Jelte Mense*
Gian Marco Palamara*
Johannes Meyerholt*
Nikee Groot*

*PhD students