Share on Facebook Tweet on Twitter Share on LinkedIn Share by email
Computational Science Laboratory

The mission of the Computational Science Lab is to pioneer new kinds of science to address important scientific and societal challenges, and create new kinds of science-based technology innovation. To achieve this we have established a new kind of Laboratory, of new kinds of scientists, pioneering new kinds of computational methods, and new kinds of scientific software tools.

Research Groups

Biological Computation Group

The Group is focused on the development and advancement of a new field of Biological Computation, that aims to transform our understanding of biology by considering biological systems as living computation, and to develop the techniques needed to design and program computation in living systems.


Computational Ecology and Environmental Science Group

The Group is focused on enabling, making and accelerating fundamental advances in our understanding of, and ability to predict the impact of future changes to, the global climate and ecological systems and processes: Earth’s life support system.


Latest News



June 2014: Paper in Science by Sara-Jane Dunn, Boyan Yordanov, Stephen Emmott and colleagues: Defining an essential transcription factor program for naïve pluripotency.

May 2014: Paper in Science by Lucas Joppa, S. L. Pimm, C. N. Jenkins, R. Abell, T. M. Brooks, J. L. Gittleman, P. H. Raven, C. M. Roberts, J. O. Sexton:The biodiversity of species and their rates of extinction, distribution, and protection

Recent Publications

More publications...



Head of Computational Science: Stephen Emmott

Biological Computation Group
Head:  Andrew Phillips


Neil Dalchau

Sara-Jane Dunn
Paul Grant
Colin Gravill
Michael Pedersen
Rasmus Petersen
Fillipo Polo
Boyan Yordanov
Alistair Bailey*
Frits Dannenberg*
Wei Pan*
Laura Parshotam*
Tim Rudge* 

Administrator: Becky Frost
Microsoft Research
21 Station Road
Tel: +44 (0)1223 479 767

Computational Ecology & Environmental Science Group

Head: Drew Purves
Sadia Ahmed
Sylvia Caldararu

Mike Harfoot

Lucas Joppa

Vassily Lyutsarev

Tim Newbold

Matthew Smith
Derek Tittensor
Jonathan Tripp
Piero Visconti
Jelte Mense*
Gian Marco Palamara*
Johannes Meyerholt*

*PhD students