Share on Facebook Tweet on Twitter Share on LinkedIn Share by email
TechVista 2012

TechVista is Microsoft Research India's annual research symposium. It brings together the best minds from the scientific and academic worlds onto a common platform. TechVista provides an opportunity for the research community, government, and students to interact and exchange ideas on research and its future directions.

TechVista 2012 was held at the Science City Auditorium, Kolkata, India on January 20, 2012.

The speakers at TechVista 2012 included thought leaders and world renowned scientists.

Sri Rabiranjan Chattopadhyay, Hon’ble Minister for Science and Technology, Government of West Bengal and Sri Partha Chatterjee, Hon’ble Minister for Information Technology, Government of West Bengal were Guests of Honour at TechVista 2012.

Other speakers at TechVista 2012 included:

  • Prof. Katsushi Ikeuchi, Institute of Industrial Science, The University of Tokyo. Prof. Ikeuchi is the recipient of the David Marr Prize in computational vision.
  • Prof. Narendra Ahuja, Donald Biggar Willet Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Beckman Institute, and Coordinated Science Laboratory University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He is also Co-ordinator, Program Steering & Implementation Group, Information Technology Research Academy (ITRA)
  • Dr. Ravi Kannan, Principal Researcher, Microsoft Research India. He received the 2011 ACM-SIGACT Knuth Prize and the Fulkerson Prize in 1992.
  • Prof. Frans Kaashoek, Charles Piper Professor in MIT's Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and a member of the MIT Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory. He is the recipient of the inaugural ACM SIGOPS Mark Weiser award and the 2011 ACM-Infosys Foundation award.
  • Dr. Richard Rashid, Chief Research Officer, Microsoft Research. Richard (Rick) F. Rashid oversees worldwide operations for Microsoft Research, an organization encompassing more than 850 researchers across six labs worldwide.
  • Dr. P. Anandan, Managing Director, Microsoft Research India. Dr. Anandan is one of the world’s leading experts in computer vision. 

Click here to watch videos of the talks at TechVista 2012.

TechVista 2012 featured a PhD poster session where PhD students from India exhibited their research work in the form of posters to a high profile audience including a large number of their peers. Congratulations to the following presenters for being selected as the top three presenters by the judges:

Winner: Karthik Ramachandra, Dept. of CSE, IIT Bombay, Holistic Optimization of Database Applications
Advisors: Prof. S Sudarshan (IIT Bombay), Prof. Ravindra Guravannavar (IIT Hyderabad)

First runner up: Rijurekha Sen, Dept. of CSE, IIT Bombay, Kyun Queue: A Sensor Network System To Monitor Road Traffic Queues
Advisor: Prof. Bhaskaran Raman

Second runner up: Ayushi Rastogi, Indraprastha Institute of Information Technology, New Delhi, Exploring Social Dynamics by Mining a Defect Tracking System for Risk and Vulnerability Analysis
Advisor: Dr. Ashish Sureka  

There were also demos of cutting edge research projects from the different Microsoft Research labs across the world. 

Videos of talks at TechVista 2012
TechVista 2012 Special Session
TechVista 2012 Special Session
P. Anandan, Sriram Rajamani, Rick Rashid, Rabiranjan Chattopadhyay, and Partha Chatterjee
Microsoft Research
Microsoft Research
Rick Rashid
The Multicore Evolution and Operating Systems
The Multicore Evolution and Operating Systems
Frans Kaashoek
Geometry and Massive Data
Geometry and Massive Data
Ravi Kannan
Information Technology Research Academy (ITRA)
Information Technology Research Academy (ITRA)
Narendra Ahuja
e-Heritage Projects in Italy, Cambodia, and Japan: Lesson learned:
e-Heritage Projects in Italy, Cambodia, and Japan: Lesson learned:
Katsushi Ikeuchi
TechVista 2012 Q&A session
TechVista 2012 Q&A session
P. Anandan, Narendra Ahuja, Frans Kaashoek, Ravi Kannan, and Katsushi Ikeuchi

TechVista has become a platform for scientists, academia, the government and industry to interact and chart new directions for research. The speakers at the previous editions of TechVista include Turing award recipients Prof. John Hopcroft, Dr. Butler Lampson, Dr. Raj Reddy, Prof. Barbara Liskov, and Sir Tony Hoare, Academy award winners Dr. Michael Kass and Dr. Ken Perlin, world renowned scientists like Prof. Eric Grimson, Prof. Manuela Veloso, Prof. Maria Klawe, Prof. Takeo Kanade and well known Indian scientists like Prof. Ashok Jhunjhunwala and Prof. Krithi Ramamritham.