Share on Facebook Tweet on Twitter Share on LinkedIn Share by email
TechVista 2011

TechVista is Microsoft Research India's annual research symposium. It brings together the best minds from the scientific and academic worlds onto a common platform. TechVista provides an opportunity for the research community, government, and students to interact and exchange ideas on research and its future directions.

TechVista 2011 was held at The Westin Hotel, Koregaon Park, Pune, India on January 21, 2011. A number of leading computer scientists and thought leaders from India and abroad attended the event. Thanks to all the participants for making it such a great success!

The Hon'ble Chief Minister of Maharashtra, Shri. Prithviraj Chavan was the Chief Guest at the inaugural of TechVista 2011. Shri. Prithviraj Chavan also inaugurated TechVista 2011. Eminent scientist, Dr. R A Mashelkar was the Guest of Honour.

The other speakers in the inaugural session included Dr. Richard F. Rashid, Senior Vice President, Microsoft Research, and the head of Microsoft Research worldwide, and Dr. P. Anandan, Managing Director, Microsoft Research India.

This was followed by two Distinguished Lectures:

This afternoon session of TechVista featured a large number of cutting edge demos from the different Microsoft Research labs worldwide, technical lectures by leading researchers and a poster display by Indian Ph.D. students.

Technical talks:  

The demos encompassed a large spectrum of fields in computer science, representing some of the cutting edge research being conducted at Microsoft Research and other divisions of Microsoft. Click here for demo details.

The Ph.D. poster display showcased some of the best work by Computer Science and Electrical Engineering Ph.D. students from India, selected through a competitive process. Click here for a list of posters.

Results of the PhD poster session:

First Prize: Ruta Mehta of IIT Bombay, for the poster Rank-1 Two Player Games: A Homeomorphism and a Polynomial Time Algorithm. She was advised by Bharat Adsul and Milind Sohoni.

Second Prize: Saptarshi Ghosh of IIT Kharagpur, advised by Niloy Ganguly, for Effects of a Soft Cut-off on Number of Links in the Twitter Online Social Network, a project done in association with under-graduate students Gautam Korlam (IIT Kharagpur) and Ajitesh Srivastava (BITS, Pilani).

Third Prize: Dilip Mathew Thomas of the Indian Institute of Science, advised by Phaneendra Yalavarthy and Vijay Natarajan, for Feature Preserving Mesh Simplification.