Share on Facebook Tweet on Twitter Share on LinkedIn Share by email
Supporting Asynchronous Collaboration in Visual Analytics Systems

  Visual analytics involves complex analytical processes that can often benefit from collaboration. Many researchers have explored co-located synchronous systems to help support collaborative visual analytics; however, the process can often be long and require a series of sessions. Providing support for asynchronous collaboration in visual analytics systems can help divide the problem between several analysts across many sessions to ensure that they can effectively work together toward a solution. Currently, visual analytics systems offer limited support for asynchronous, multi-session work [1]. In this workshop, we seek to bring together researchers from both the CSCW and Visual Analytics communities to discuss avenues for supporting asynchronous collaboration in visual analytics system.


Accepted Papers

Jason Chuang, Daniel Ramage, Daniel A. McFarland, Christopher D. Manning, Jeffrey Heer. Large-Scale Examination of Academic Publications Using Statistical Models.

Andrew Dufilie, John Fallon, Patrick Stickney, Georges Grinstein. Weave: A Web-based Architecture Supporting Asynchronous and Real-time Collaboration.

Petra Isenberg, Jean-Daniel Fekete.  From the Individual to the Group: Integrating Asynchronous Collaboration with Co-located Work.

Manoj Krishnan, Karrie Karahalios. House: A messaging platform to support geographically disconnected families.


Workshop Schedule

9:00 – 9:15         Opening words

9:15  9:30         Introductions: 1 min per participant

9:30 – 10:15       Session 1: examples of systems to ground the discussion

TALKS IN THIS SESSION WILL HAVE 10 minutes + 5 minutes Q/A

9:30 – 9:45         paper (CSCW) House, a messaging platform for members of geographically disconnected families to stay connected.

9:45 – 10:00      paper (Visual analytics) Experiences in three collaborative visual analytics projects on large-scale examination of academic publications using statistical models.

10:00 – 10:15   paper (Framework) Weave, an open-source application framework designed to support both asynchronous and real-time collaborative visualizations

10:15 – 10:45     Coffee Break

10:45 – 11:30     Session 2: thinking about asynchronous visual analytics

TALKS IN THIS SESSION WILL HAVE 5 minutes + 15 minutes Q/A

10:45 – 11:05     position paper - asynchronous collaboration with co-located work

11.05 – 11.25     invited thoughts – Sheelagh Carpendale

11:30 – 12:00     Brainstorming for finding key topics and work groups

12:00 – 13:30     Lunch

13:30 – 15:15     Work in groups

15:15 - 15:45      Afternoon Coffee Break

15:45 – 17:00     Group reporting

17:00 – 17:15     Closing words



We invite authors to submit 2-4 page papers reporting contributions in the areas of collaborative visual analytics, or asynchronous collaboration or 2-page position statements motivating their interest in the workshop topic. Papers should be formatted according to the AVI 2012 (ACM SIG Proceedings) format. The selection of workshop participants and presentations will be based on refereed submissions.

Authors of accepted submissions will be invited to give short presentations. We will interweave presentation sessions with longer periods of discussions. Presentations will be grouped by key topics to foster spontaneous discussions.

Please send submissions to 


Nathalie Henry Riche – Microsoft Research

Dr. Nathalie Henry Riche is a Researcher at Microsoft Research. Her research interests are in the field of Human-Computer Interaction and Information Visualization. Her principal focus is the visual exploration of graphs and social networks. Nathalie received a Ph.D. in computer science from INRIA/University of Paris-South and University of Sydney.

Kori Inkpen – Microsoft Research

Dr. Kori Inkpen is a Principal Researcher/Research Manager at Microsoft Research, and is head of the Connect team. Her research interests are particularly in the fields of Computer-Supported Cooperative Work and Human-Computer Interaction and she is currently focused on video to support rich collaborative interactions in both the consumer and enterprise spaces. She has been conference co-chair and organiser of many international conferences including CSCW 2010 and Group 2007. Prior to joining Microsoft she was a Professor of Computer Science at Dalhousie University.

John Stasko – Georgia Tech

Dr. John Stasko is a Professor in and the Associate Chair of the School of Interactive Computing at the Georgia Institute of Technology. His research is in the area of human-computer interaction with a specific focus on information visualization and visual analytics. Stasko, an ACM Distinguished Scientist, has been Program Co-Chair for IEEE Information Visualization (InfoVis) Conference and the IEEE Visual Analytics Science and Technology (VAST) Symposium, and is on the Steering Committee for IEEE InfoVis.

Tom Gross - University of Bamberg

Dr. Tom Gross is full professor and chair of Human-Computer Interaction at the Faculty of Information Systems and Applied Computer Science of the University of Bamberg, Germany. His research interests are particularly in the fields of Computer-Supported Cooperative Work, Human-Computer Interaction, and Ubiquitous Computing. He has participated in and coordinated activities in various national and international research projects and is a member of the IFIP Technical Committee on ‘Human Computer Interaction’ (TC.13). He has been conference co-chair and organiser of many international conferences.

Mary Czerwinski--Microsoft Research

Dr. Mary Czerwinski is a Research Manager of the Visualization and Interaction for Business and Entertainment (VIBE) research group at Microsoft Research. Mary's primary research areas include studying lifelogging, group awareness systems, information visualization and task switching. She has held positions at University of Washington, Compaq Computer Corporation, Rice University, Lockheed Engineering and Sciences Corporation, and Bell Communications Research. She received a Ph.D. in cognitive psychology from Indiana University in Bloomington.


  • Nadia Boukhelifa
  • Sheelagh Carpendale
  • Jason Chuang
  • Andrew Dufilie
  • Alex Endert
  • Jean-Daniel Fekete
  • Tom Gross
  • Nathalie Henry Riche
  • Christophe Hurter
  • Kori Inkpen
  • Jessie Kennedy
  • Manoj Krishnan
  • Dieter Meiller 
  • John Stasko

Important Dates

Submission deadline: 16 March 2012

Notification of acceptance: 23 March 2012

Final submission: 2 April 2012

Workshop date: 21 May 2012