Share on Facebook Tweet on Twitter Share on LinkedIn Share by email
TechVista Bangalore 2007

Microsoft Research India has instituted an annual research symposium, TechVista, which brings together the best minds from the scientific and academic worlds onto a common platform. TechVista provides an opportunity for the research community, government and students to interact and exchange ideas on research and its future directions. TechVista 2008 will be held in Chennai on October 1, 2008.

TechVista Bangalore 2007, held on January 23, 2007 in Bangalore at the JN Tata Auditorium, Indian Institute of Science, was attended by more than 800 students, faculty and industry representatives. The speakers at TechVista 2007 included:

The inaugural session of TechVista 2007 was themed "Making India a Powerhouse in Research". The symposium also featured a panel discussion chaired by Dr. Dan Ling, corporate vice president, Microsoft Research, on the same theme. The other panelists were:

  • Prof. Jitendra Malik, UC Berkeley
  • Prof. Krithi Ramamritham, IIT Bombay
  • Prof. Rajeev Sangal, IIIT Hyderabad

Some of the speakers from previous editions of TechVista include:

  • Dr. Butler Lampson, Microsoft Research and Turing award winner
  • Prof. Raj Reddy, Carnegie Mellon University and Turing award winner
  • Sir Tony Hoare, Microsoft Research Cambridge and Turing award winner
  • Prof. Ashok Jhunjhunwala, IIT Chennai
  • Prof. Takeo Kanade, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Prof. Maria Klawe, Princeton University
  • Dr. Dan Ling, Microsoft Research
  • Dr. Rick Rashid, Microsoft Research
  • Prof. Andrew Zisserman, University of Oxford