Share on Facebook Tweet on Twitter Share on LinkedIn Share by email
Inspire Programme: Research Summer Schools

Microsoft Research offers sponsorships to computer science research summer schools, towards the cost of inviting research students from the country of residence and surrounding countries to attend. The summer school should have a well-defined programme of workshops, lectures and tutorials involving internationally renowned speakers.

How to Participate

Interested Summer School Organisers

  • If you would like us to consider a research summer school for funding, send an e-mail message to by September 2010.
  • In the body of the message, include the following details:
    • Name of the summer school
    • Location
    • Date
    • Programme (including list of tutorial)
    • List of confirmed speakers
    • Funds already secured
    • Web page (if any)
  • We only consider summer schools that will take place in a developing country and whose programme focuses on computer science. Microsoft Research sponsorship (up to 10,000 euros) should be used solely to support attendance of students or professors to the summer school.

Interested Students

    • If you are a research student and would like to attend one of the upcoming summer schools, please contact the organisers of the summer school to see whether they will sponsor you.

Upcoming Sponsored Summer Schools

Past Sponsored Summer Schools

The programme, started in 2005, has supported these research summer schools:

  • Doctoral Intensive Summer School Meta-Heuristics in Optimization and Data Mining, Iaşi Romania, June 2010
  • Scientific School on GPS and GIS, Brazzaville, Congo, 30 November–11 December 2009
  • COSI Summer School on Decision Aiding, Annaba, Algeria, 23–24 May 2009
  • 5th IFIP Summer School on Software Technology (ISS'09), Cape Town, South Africa, 30 March–3 April 2009
  • International Bioinformatics Software School IBSS’2008, Tangier, Morocco, 3–8 November 2008
  • 40 Years of Software Engineering, Gitomir, Ukraine, 15–19 September 2008
  • IFIP School on Wireless Computing, Pretoria, South Africa, 8–11 October 2008
  • Summer School on Internet Security and Privacy, Brno, Czech Republic, 1–7 September 2008
  • Doctoral Intensive Summer School on Meta-Heuristics in Optimisation and in Intelligent Data Analysis, Iaşi, Romania, 9–15 June 2008
  • Second International School on Trends in Concurrency, Prague, Czech Republic, 22–27 June 2008
  • Central and Summer School on Mobile Computing, Karachi, Pakistan, 15–16 December 2007
  • Central and Eastern European PhD Symposium on Software Engineering (part of CEE-SET 2007), Poznań, Poland, 10–12 October 2007
  • EUROLAN 2007 Summer School, Iaşi, Romania, 23 July–4 August 2007
  • COSI – Summer School on Decision Aiding, Oran, Algeria, 9–11 June 2007
  • Fourth IFIP Summer School on Software Technology and Engineering, Gordon’s Bay, South Africa, 26–30 March 2007
  • Summer School on Distributed and Embedded Systems and Networks, Cape Coast University, Ghana, 15–19 January 2007
  • International Bioinformatics Software School (IBSS2006), Tangier, Morocco, 20–24 November 2006
  • 2006 East-West Design and Test Summer School, Sochi, Russia, 15–19 September 2006
  • First MedILS Summer School on "Creating Interdisciplinary Research projects", Split, Croatia, 31 July–11 August 2006
  • Third Summer School on Intelligent Data Analysis (IDA), Iaşi, Romania, 12–16 June 2006
  • Third IFIP Summer School on Software Technology and Engineering, Gordon’s Bay, South Africa, 15–20 January 2006
  • Moscow Computer Science School, Moscow, Russia, 20–22 September 2005
Inspire Programme Countries

Following the classification of the World Bank, this programme includes the following countries.

In Africa:
Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Côte d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Republic of the Congo, Rwanda, Seychelles, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

In the Middle East:
Comoros, Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon, Oman, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Turkey, Yemen

In Europe:
Albania, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, FYRO Macedonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Poland, Romania, Russia, Serbia and Montenegro, Slovakia, Ukraine